Thirsty Work

If you start to feel thirsty, you are ALREADY dehydrated.  Or so I have read.

A friend of mine has said she believes that the difference between feeling great at one work out and struggling at the next could be your level of hydration (possibly also fuel in your body, timing meals and workouts is super important apparently. Not an art I have mastered at this stage).

Water is good for your skin and…well I’m not really sure what else. Getting enough sleep or something? Probably, maybe I should Google it….

“Water flushes toxins out of vital organs, carries nutrients to your cells and provides a moist environment for ear, nose and throat tissues. Lack of water can lead to dehydration, a condition that occurs when you don’t have enough water in your body to carry out normal functions. Even mild dehydration can drain your energy and make you tired.“ – SOURCE: http://www.mayoclinic.com

Good to know.

In any case there is a recommended guideline for how much water is ‘healthy’ to drink so I am going to assume that the people who came up with that know what they are talking about! A good discussion I have found was written by HFG Australia and can be found here.

Pure, sweet water

My husband is convinced whenever I get a headache that I haven’t been drinking enough water. And maybe he is right. Time to either squash that myth or concede he was right (sigh).

THIS WEEKS GOAL: 5-6 GLASSES OF LIQUID A DAY + sweat replacement

‘Liquid’ includes: Water (duh), tea, coffee, milk, juice (according to HFG guidelines)

It DOES NOT include: Wine. Or alcohol.

I have 2 cups of tea on an average day, a half juice/water at lunch and a smoothie for breakfast. That’s 4 glasses, so I am going to add in two full glasses of water on top of that while at work PLUS at least a drink bottle of water per 30 minute workout. I will work at increasing to an extra glass of water (3 a day). If I miss a cup of tea or have toast instead of a smoothie, I will add in another glass of water, etc. Deal.

Oh yeah, and I am cutting out soft drink COMPLETELY. I don’t drink it frequently, I have maybe one to two Coke Zeros a week but its pretty pointless. Lime and soda or half orange juice/soda water is a better choice when out at the pub/for lunch etc.

Progress

Still aiming for 5 serves of veggies a day, probably achieving that maybe 4-5 times a week. Needs constant improvement! I am getting more in the habit of eating veggies at lunch though which is progress.

I did 77 minutes a day of exercise on average last week so still going strong on the 70 minutes of exercise a day. Feeling good too. Fit. I shaved 4 minutes off my 8 km run and I threw in a sizable hill to boot…but at 56 minutes it needs improvements. Still, I did run the whole thing so trying not to lose sight of how far I have come.

Cycling is going well, I have been for a few MTB rides and have been increasing my road and gym riding. I did a gorgeous sunset ride yesterday around my beautiful city. About 10 km and a good 35 minute workout. I felt really invigorated afterwards and would like to work at improving my time on the same route.

My weekly measurements (waist, stomach, hips) are showing a definite change (1-2 cm) and my clothes are feeling a little loose so I am on track for a loss come June 1st I believe. But I don’t really mind if not. I mean, I’ll be disappointed of course but I am feeling pretty happy and confident in my body at the moment. Last night we went round for a roast at my parents and my mum made a delicious lemon meringue pie from scratch. I had a huge serving and enjoyed every mouthful. I still feel no regrets. I am confident I know how much I can and can’t have at the moment. I’m feeling quite empowered actually. Hopefully it isn’t false confidence.

Overall, feeling great and loving it!

Next post: My City2Surf training plan. Starting to get exited/terrified at how close it is…

Leave a Reply

